Skip to content

December 17, 2007
MERRY CHRISTMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I just wanted jump away from real estate issues for a change to write a quick note and say Happy Holidays!

I have a renewed perspective on the holidays due to recent events in my life.

Many of you may not know this but the week of Thanksgiving I almost died.

As it turns out I’ve acquired some kind of auto-immune disorder called ITP where my anti-bodies are destoying my blood platelets. I wouldn’t have known about this had I not developed several blood blisters in my mouth over night and a peculiar rash that was actually my capalaries bleeding through my skin. I asked a colleague in my office who used to be a nurse what she thought of it and she told me to see a doctor immediately. Hours later I was admitted Harborview.

Most people have a blood platelet count between 150,000-450,000 per sample. When I was admitted to the hospital I had a count of 1000. I was in critical danger of bleeding to death internally as my blood was about the consistancy of water. I never expected to face my mortality at the age of 35 but that is what happened.

Standing face to face with death allows you to see nothing but the things that are most important to you. In my case, my faith in Jesus Christ and my love and concern for my wife and children are all that mattered to me.

I spent the next 3 days and nights at Harborview being tested and brought back to stability. Over the past few weeks we have been monitoring my condition and my body is still attacking the platelets. I am stable, the condition is treatable but there is still much that is unknown about my condition. It could just disappear or I may have it the rest of my life. We just have to continue to monitor it.

All I know is that facing this situation has given me a new lease on life! The steroids I have to take mess with me quite a bit but other than the occasional “roid rage” I am happier than I’ve been in years.

I am grateful for God’s grace in my life, I am grateful for my beautiful family, and not to sound too cheesy but I am grateful for each person in my life, from family and friends to my clients and colleagues! So this year I want to say thank you for being a part of my life. I don’t get to see or talk with some of you often but I think of you and hope you are doing well.

Please take a tip from me. This year don’t get so caught up in the hustle and bustle. Instead, just enjoy your friends, family, and life this Holiday Season!

It really is a wonderful life!

Peace to you,
Ted Dietz

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott permalink
    December 26, 2007 11:43 pm

    Oh my word, I had no idea. I’m certainly glad they caught it in time. I’ll certainly be praying that it disappears. Are there other limitations as a result of this disease – reduced physical activity, things of that nature?

    The family picture looks great though. It does my heart good to see you all happy.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    January 2, 2008 10:44 pm

    Oh man! I am so sorry for the scare. Yikes. do you require transfusions? What is your blood type?

    m smith

  3. Scott Carnegie permalink
    May 12, 2008 11:52 pm

    Sounds like what I had Ted. Mine was Parvo B-19 though. I was exausted, tired, and yellow (they called me Shrek at the hospital). My count wasn’t as bad though – I think the lowest I hit was 19,000. Still scary though. I had a blood transfusion after being tested for 36 hours and was up and about right after that. But glad to hear you’re alive and kicking. Take it easy my friend.

  4. Ted Dietz permalink
    May 13, 2008 12:05 am

    Hey Scott Carnegie,

    Thanks for the well wishes. Glad you’re better as well.

    By the way, you aren’t by chance the same Scott Carnegie who went to Central Kitsap High School are you?

    -Ted

Leave a Reply

