Skip to content

Your Stuff

October 5, 2010

Have you heard George Carlin’s comedy bit about “stuff”? I’ve been thinking about this comedy routine in relationship to selling a house.  I think Carlin has hit real estate marketing on the head.  Like he says, ” That’s all your house is, a place to keep your stuff.  A pile of stuff with a cover on it. Sometimes you need to move.  Why?  Too much stuff!  Did you ever notice when you go to other people’s houses there is no room for your stuff? Their stuff is all over!  And what awful stuff it is! Where did they get this stuff?” 

That’s it right there – And what awful stuff it is.  Regardless of how great you think your stuff is, other people are going to have their own opinions.  When potential buyers are looking at your home, they aren’t there to admire your stuff.  What they want to know is – will this house work for my stuff?  So as a seller, you must accomodate the potential buyer by allowing them to be able to picture their own stuff in the house.  How?  Moving out your stuff.  Yep.  Pack it up.  Buyers just aren’t interested in your salt and pepper shaker collection.  Or the family photos, or your birthday cards on the mantle.  Sorry, it has to be done.  While your house in on the market, think furniture store show room, not home.  I know this sounds a little harsh, but believe me, getting your things out and neutralizing the space will make a HUGE difference.   I’ve got other ideas on how to market your house on my website.  You don’t have to go all HGTV on your house, just pick it up and move it out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 9:05 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. When I was purchasing a home 6 months ago I would try to visualize where I would put my stuff (and it’s mostly awful stuff). It was much harder to do with someone else’s stuff in the way. Not to mention that it makes the place look smaller when it’s packed full of stuff.

    What’s your opinion of putting up mirrors to create the illusion of more space?

    • October 6, 2010 10:02 am

      Ahh, mirrors the magicians of the interior decor world. Just no mirrors covering a whole wall. Which reminds me of another comedy routine from Seinfeld: “I had a parakeet that used to fly around the house and crash into these huge mirrors my mother put in. Ever heard of this interior design principle, that a mirror makes it seem like you have an entire other room? What kind of jerk walks up to a mirror and goes, “Hey look, there’s a whole other room in there. There’s a guy that looks just like me in there.”
      But the parakeet would fall for this. I’d let him out of his cage, he’d fly right into the mirror. And I’d always think, “Even if he thinks the mirror is another room, why doesn’t he at least try to avoid hitting the other parakeet?”

Trackbacks

  1. I’ll Downsize – Just Don’t Take My Storage « WHAT THE TED?
  2. Do you know what you want in a home? I’ll bet you don’t… at least not yet. « WHAT THE TED?
  3. Curb Appeal « WHAT THE TED?

Leave a Reply

