Skip to content

Merry and BRIGHT

December 7, 2010

Tell me what you think.  Is this Christmas Cheer or Christmas Crazy?  Is this Community Service or a really bad use of resources?  Admittably, my family and I do the yearly ritual of driving around listening to carols on the radio, drinking hot coco and looking at lights.  We did it when I was a kid, and now I do it with my kids.  But after I saw this article I will never be able to think of this holiday tradition in the same way.  To give you one of the more extreme examples: The house pictured here has a total of 1,000,000 lights on it.  This family has been doing this for 25 years.  It is calculated that if the old-school bulbs are used, that averages a cost of $686 an hour.  If they have their lights on for four hours a night that comes out to be $2,744 a night. (I ask you, when have you ever spent $2,700 in one night?  If you have, I want to hear about it.)   So, if they do this from Thanksgiving weekend through New Years Day, they will have spent over $82,000.  So back to my original question, is this Christmas Cheer or Christmas Crazy?  Maybe Christmas Cheer is Christmas Crazy.  All I know is, if this house was in my neighborhood we would definately drive by and gawk. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

