Skip to content

“We all have our little faults. Mine’s in California.” i.e. Lex Luthor’s evil real estate plan

January 4, 2011
image from movievillains.com

I’ve recently taken to forcing my children to watch movies from my childhood.  And thanks to the Christmas break, and being able to stream Netflix, I’ve been able to show the kids some real gems.  Last week it was time to revisit 1978’s “Superman: The Movie”.  A film I had not seen since 1978.  It’s fantastically bad, and my kids loved it.  Score!! 

I remembered a surprising amount from the movie, but one thing I did not recall was Lex Luthor’s evil plot was completely based around real estate.  So, to start the year off right I thought I’d bring in good ol’ Lex to remind us of some timeless truths and inspire us toward our own evil real estate plans for 2011!

Enjoy this video and some lines from the film.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nl9409NQPuU

[pointing to a map of California and the San Andreas Fault]
Lex Luthor: Everything west of this line is the richest, most expensive real estate in the world: San Diego, Los Angeles, San Francisco. Everything on THIS side of the line is just hundreds and hundreds of miles of worthless desert land, which just so happens to be owned by…
[Whaps Otis with his pointer]
Otis:  Uhhh… Lex Luthor Incorporated.
Lex Luthor: Now, call me foolish, call me irresponsible, but it occurs to me that a 500 megaton bomb planted at just the proper point would, uh…
Superman: Would destroy most of California. Millions of innocent people would be killed. The west coast as we know it would…
Lex Luthor: Fall into the sea.
Lex Luthor: [Gives a little wave with his hand] Bye-bye, California. Hello, new west coast. My west coast.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

