Skip to content

You’ve never seen a “fixer” like this!

April 7, 2011

 

I have seen a lot of homes in my day with the term “fixer” attached to them.  Some of them just need a little caulking and paint.  Others need to have their electrical and plumbing systems updated.  Some have been stripped down to the studs.  I even once entered a home (stupily, I might add) that was starting to split down the middle.  But in all my years in and around real estate I have never seen anything like this home.  It is truly beyond the “fixer” moniker.

Now, I in no way wish to make light of the situation the poor owners of this place are in but this house is two blocks away from mine and man alive is it eye catching!  I’ve been watching it over the past several weeks and thought that I should document it before it completely falls apart.  A week ago, the gaping hole that you now see was crammed with stuff upon stuff.  That is also when they decided to brace it with the ladder and 2x4s. 

The only way I figure this could have happened is years of water intrusion into the walls. 

Anyway, I just thought that people would be amazed by this.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 10:58 am

    Wow Ted, do people actually live in this home? It looks like it need to be condemned.

    • April 7, 2011 1:41 pm

      Hey Michael – Looks like the power has been cut. I can’t imagine someone is still living here. However, the house next door does having people living in it and the two homes are fairly close together. That neighbor may be receiving an unwanted addition in the near future! If I lived next door, I would be all over the city to do something about this. Crazy.

Leave a Reply

