Skip to content

How old do you think the average Realtor is?

May 25, 2011

I was doing my daily morning news perusing when I came across a story on Inman news saying that the median age for Realtors increased from 54 years of age to 56 in 2011 (for the record, not all real estate brokers belong to the National Association of Realtors, so this isn’t exhaustive).

That blows me away!  I would have guessed based on my experience in Seattle that the median number would have been between 40 and 50.  I’d be curious to know how that breaks down state by state, region by region, city by city.  I do know a lot of agents in their 50’s and 60’s but I know a lot more under 50.

Here’s how the breakdown goes:

39 and under: 12% (I’m in this category)

40-59: 50%

60 and older: 38%

To be fair, you can’t take these numbers on their face.  Out of the NAR’s 1.01 million members only 8,303 (less than 1%) participated in the survey.  I don’t remember receiving the survey and I’m not sure how many Realtors they tapped but that’s hardly a  reasonable sample set.  

Maybe the question should have been: “What percentage of your membership is most likely to respond to a survey?”

I’m just sayin’…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

