Skip to content

There’s a Real Estate Sucker Born Every Minute

May 23, 2012

I will apologize ahead of time for the snarkiness of this post.  Sometimes one must vent…

I was just thumbing through the latest issue of REALTOR magazine when I was reminded that real estate brokers are “suckers”.  Every month I get this magazine and it is filled with advertisements for worthless gimmicks and tools and invitations to see this or that real estate icon.  These items and services must sell or these companies wouldn’t continue to advertise in the magazine.  In fact, I know they sell because I’ve been to the seminars and classes that are akin to old fashioned tent revivals.  All you have to do is walk down the aisle and smack your $300-$2,000 on the alter to have instant lead generation and client contact management salvation!

Ugh….

Many a P.T. Barnum-like real estate celebrity has been born due to the ease with which agents are exploited. Mike Ferry, Joe Stumpf, Hobbs Herder… everyone in the business knows these names.  Just employ a system or buy this gadget/marketing plan and watch your business start booming!

I hate things that prey on people’s egos and insecurity.  And there is a TON of ego and insecurity in my industry.

Here’s a short list of things we don’t need in the industry:

  • Moving trucks with gigantic pictures of us on the side
  • Personalized Listing Radio Stations that give information about the agent or the home
  • A $500 – $5,000 branding/marketing campaign that sends crap our clients won’t read so we won’t have talk to said clients
  • A $40-$200/month lead capturing system that feeds us contact information for people that are annoyed when we call or just wanted to know if the yard was big enough for their dog
  • Another charismatic guy/gal in a power suit telling us that all we need to do is ask for referrals from our clients to gain a never ending supply business
  • Another article on how great social networking is for building your business
  • Another over generalized auto-sent newsletter that talks about the Las Vegas, Phoenix, or non-relevant market when my clients live in Columbia City & Ballard

I think you get the picture.  Death to overpromising!

Ahhhhh…. I feel better now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2012 3:17 am

    You have different insights towards real estate. I respect you with that. I just hope you would never put anyone down.

    • June 22, 2012 8:34 am

      I will not put people down. The Ferrys and Stumpfs of world have techniques that will work for a few people. I don’t think that they are aweful people. What I am railing against is the idea in real estate that if you plug in this method, or tool, or system that you will be guaranteed success. Agents easily buy the promise of success without questioning whether the method is right for them. There are brokers I have met that swear by the ask for referrals system but they are not the norm. The thing that inspired this post was the feeling of desperation and/or false enthusiasm I’ve felt around other brokers when attending classes like these. It is akin to the feeling I’ve experienced at Amway & Nouveau Riche gatherings. Yes, the system can work but I get the feeling that the purveyors of these systems are more interested in building sales volume through a following while the actual success and effectivness amongst their followers is secondary.

Leave a Reply

